Open your mind to ear-dropps

Sweet music to your ears. LP’s, EP’s and everything in between this is the place you will find out about the latest music and maybe even some oldies but goodies.

go left young man
  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnhurtsexilecover.jpg

    Hurts: Exile

    Mon Apr 29

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnlocalnativeshummingbirdcover.jpg

    Local Natives: Hummingbird

    Mon Feb 4

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tntherollingstonesgrrrcover.jpg

    The Rolling Stones: GRRR!

    Fri Jan 11

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tndavidjacobsoncomearoundagaincover.jpg

    David Jacobson: Come Around Again!

    Wed Dec 12

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tndevaluedplaguescover.jpg

    Devalued: Plagues

    Fri Dec 7

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tngodspeedyoublackemperorallelujahdontbendascendcover.jpg

    Godspeed You! Black Emperor: Allelujah! Don't Bend! Ascend!

    Tue Dec 4

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tngrizzlybearshieldscover.jpg

    Grizzly Bear: Shields

    Fri Nov 30

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tndeftoneskoinoyokan.jpg

    Deftones: Koi No Yokan

    Tue Nov 27

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnlevek.jpg

    Levek: Look a Little Closer

    Thu Nov 15

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnthekillersbattleborncover.jpg

    The Killers: Battle Born

    Mon Nov 12

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnandrewbirdhandsofglorycover.jpg

    Andrew Bird: Hands of Glory

    Fri Nov 2

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnchelseawolfeunknownroomscover.jpg

    Chelsea Wolfe: Unknown Rooms: A Collection of Acoustic Songs

    Fri Oct 19

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnconverge.jpg

    Converge: All We Love We Leave Behind

    Wed Oct 10

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnthemountaingoatstranscendentalyouthalbumcover.jpg

    The Mountain Goats: Transcendental Youth

    Tue Oct 9

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnroadkill.jpg

    Roadkill Ghost Choir: Quiet Light

    Thu Oct 4

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnmusethe2ndlawcover.jpeg

    Muse: The 2nd Law

    Wed Oct 3

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/lupe161.png

    Lupe Fiasco: Food & Liquor II: The Great American Rap Album, Pt. 1

    Thu Sep 27

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/jonspencer161.png

    The Jon Spencer Blues Explosion: Meat and Bone

    Thu Sep 27

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/vaccinescomeofage.jpg

    The Vaccines: Come of Age

    Mon Sep 24

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tempestbobdylan45.jpg

    Bob Dylan: Tempest

    Tue Sep 18

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/theseer160.png

    Swans: The Seer

    Wed Sep 12

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnthexxcoexistreview.jpg

    The xx: Coexist

    Tue Sep 11

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnwildnothingnocturnereview.jpg

    Wild Nothing: Nocturne

    Mon Sep 10

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnanimalcollectivecentipedehzreview.jpeg

    Animal Collective: Centipede Hz

    Fri Sep 7

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tncircasurviveviolentwavesreview.jpg

    Circa Survive: Violent Waves

    Wed Sep 5

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/ariel14.jpg

    Ariel Pink's Haunted Graffiti: Mature Themes

    Tue Sep 4

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnkralliceyearspastmatterreview.jpg

    Krallice: Years Past Matter

    Fri Aug 31

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/overduebeachwoodysmaller43.png

    Overdue for Review: Beach Boys through Woody Guthrie

    Mon Aug 27

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnteengirlfantasytraceralbumcover.jpeg

    Teengirl Fantasy: Tracer

    Fri Aug 24

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnblocpartyfourmusicreview.jpg

    Bloc Party: Four

    Thu Aug 23

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnxibalbahastalamuertecover.jpg

    Xibalba: Hasta La Muerte

    Tue Aug 21

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/pt.jpg

    Praything: Her Skin Caught the Glow EP

    Mon Aug 13

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnreginaspektorwhatwesawfromthecheapseats.jpg

    Regina Spektor: What We Saw From The Cheap Seats

    Wed Aug 8

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnnaslifeisgoodcover.jpg

    Nas: Life is Good

    Mon Aug 6

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnnachtmystiumsilencingmachinecover.jpg

    Nachtmystium: Silencing Machine

    Fri Aug 3

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/purityringshrines.jpeg

    Purity Ring: Shrines

    Tue Jul 31

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnfrankoceanchannelorangecover.jpg

    Frank Ocean: Channel Orange

    Mon Jul 23

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnalexander.png

    Alexander & The Grapes: Hemispheres

    Fri Jul 20

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnbaroness.jpg

    Baroness: Yellow & Green

    Wed Jul 18

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnaesoprockskelethonreview.jpg

    Aesop Rock: Skelethon

    Tue Jul 17

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnmetricsyntheticareview.jpg

    Metric: Synthetica

    Fri Jul 13

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tngasolineheartthanksforeverything.jpg

    Gasoline Heart: Thanks For Everything

    Thu Jul 12

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnagallochfaustianechoes.jpg

    Agalloch: Faustian Echoes

    Wed Jul 11

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tngrantbeattapevol1.jpg

    GRANT: Beat Tape Vol. 1

    Mon Jul 9

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/fionaappletheidlerwheelpic22.jpg

    Fiona Apple: The Idler Wheel...

    Sat Jul 7

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnhundredwatershundredwaters.jpg

    Hundred Waters: Hundred Waters

    Fri Jul 6

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tncarrousel27ruedemichelle.jpg

    Carrousel: 27 rue de mi'chelle

    Mon Jul 2

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnjoeybada1999review.jpg

    Joey Bada$$: 1999

    Wed Jun 27

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnmotioncitysoundtrackgo.jpg

    Motion City Soundtrack: Go

    Mon Jun 25

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/theresnoleavingnowpic66.jpg

    The Tallest Man on Earth: There's No Leaving Now

    Fri Jun 22

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnwackaflackaflametriplefreview.jpg

    Waka Flocka Flame - Triple F Life: Friends, Fans, & Family

    Fri Jun 22

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tncoldspecks.jpg

    Cold Specks: I Predict A Graceful Expulsion

    Fri Jun 22

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tn245245albumreview.jpg

    2:54: 2:54

    Wed Jun 20

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/stonedimmaculatepic84.jpg

    Curren$y: The Stoned Immaculate

    Tue Jun 19

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnpaulsimongracelandreissue.jpg

    Paul Simon: Graceland (25th anniversary reissue)

    Mon Jun 18

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/gc.png

    Golden Curls: Warm Fiction

    Fri Jun 15

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/edwardsharpehere.jpg

    Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros: Here

    Fri Jun 15

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnablazeinthesouthernsky1.jpg

    A Blaze in the Southern Sky:
    10 Best Metal Albums of 2012 . . . So Far

    Mon Jun 11

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnburzumumskiptaralbumreview.jpg

    Burzum: Umskiptar

    Mon Jun 11

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnjapandroidscelebrationrockalbumreview.jpg

    Japandroids: Celebration Rock

    Fri Jun 8

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tncrocodilesendlessflowersreview.jpg

    Crocodiles: Endless Flowers

    Wed Jun 6

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tn25bestof2012sofar.jpg

    The Dropp's 25 Best Albums of 2012 . . . So Far

    Mon Jun 4

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnsigurrosvaltarialbumreview.jpg

    Sigur Rós: Valtari

    Fri Jun 1

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnthewalkmenheavenalbumreview45.jpg

    The Walkmen: Heaven

    Thu May 31

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/asoflateimage.png

    Overdue for Review: Bowerbirds through Toro y Moi

    Tue May 29

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnthecribsinthebellyofabrazenbullalbumreview.jpg

    The Cribs: In the Belly of the Brazen Bull

    Fri May 25

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnkimbravowsalbumreview.jpg

    Kimbra: Vows

    Fri May 25

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnhandsmassivecontextalbumreview.jpeg

    Hands: Massive Context EP

    Thu May 24

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnsantigoldmasterofmakebelievealbumreview.jpg

    Santigold: Master of My Make-Believe

    Wed May 23

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnbestcoasttheonlyplace.jpg

    Best Coast: The Only Place

    Mon May 21

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnmybloodyvalentineloveless.jpg

    My Bloody Valentine: Loveless (reissue)

    Fri May 18

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/pseudokidstn.jpg

    Pseudo Kids: Stay Glad EP

    Thu May 17

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnbobstrangeclouds.jpg

    B.O.B: Strange Clouds

    Wed May 16

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/beachhousebloomtn.jpg

    Beach House: Bloom

    Tue May 15

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/mewithoutyoutenstories.jpg

    mewithoutYou: Ten Stories

    Mon May 14

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/ssptn.jpg

    Silversun Pickups: Neck of the Woods

    Fri May 11

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/offalbumcover56.jpg

    Off!: Off!

    Tue May 8

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnfatherjohnmistyfearfun.jpg

    Father John Misty: Fear Fun

    Fri May 4

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tndeathgripsthemoneystore.jpg

    Death Grips: The Money Store

    Thu May 3

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnjackwhiteblunderbuss.jpg

    Jack White: Blunderbuss

    Wed May 2

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnreptarbodyfaucet.jpg

    Reptar: Body Faucet

    Tue May 1

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnspiritualizedsweetheartsweetlight.jpg

    Spiritualized: Sweet Heart Sweet Light

    Thu Apr 26

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnmiikesnowhappytoyou.jpg

    Miike Snow: Happy to You

    Mon Apr 23

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnbattlesdrossglop.jpg

    Battles: Dross Glop

    Fri Apr 20

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnruskosongs.jpg

    Rusko: Songs

    Wed Apr 18

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnhighonfiredevermismysteriis.jpg

    High on Fire: De Vermis Mysteriis

    Fri Apr 13

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnbearinheaveniloveyouitscool.jpg

    Bear In Heaven: I Love You, It's Cool

    Mon Apr 9

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tntanlinesmixedemotions.jpg

    Tanlines: Mixed Emotions

    Wed Mar 28

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/aoltn.png

    Ear Dropps Come Lately

    Mon Mar 26

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnoddfutureoftapevol2.jpg

    Odd Future: The OF Tape Vol. 2

    Fri Mar 23

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tndrudkheternalturnofthewheel.jpg

    Drudkh: Eternal Turn of the Wheel

    Wed Mar 21

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/shinsportmorrow.jpg

    The Shins: Port of Morrow

    Mon Mar 19

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnthemenopenyourheart.jpg

    The Men: Open Your Heart

    Fri Mar 16

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnthedecemberistsweallraiseourvoicestotheair77.jpg

    The Decemberists: We All Raise Our Voices to the Air

    Thu Mar 15

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnandrewbirdbreakityourself.jpeg

    Andrew Bird: Break It Yourself

    Fri Mar 9

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/damienjuradotn.jpg

    Damien Jurado: Maraqopa

    Wed Mar 7

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnmarklaneganbandbluesfuneral99.jpg

    Mark Lanegan Band: Blues Funeral

    Tue Feb 21

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnearthangelsofdarknessdemonsoflightii92.jpg

    Earth: Angels of Darkness, Demons of Light II

    Mon Feb 20

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/fiontn.jpg

    Fionn Regan: 100 Acres of Sycamore

    Tue Feb 14

don't go left young man

Reks:Rhythmatic Eternal King Supreme

Tags: , , , ,


7.3/10 dropps

When we think of the best hip-hop hailing from the Northeast, generally New York and Philly are the only candidates to supply talent. However, Boston has a handful of hidden hip-hop talent, and none seem more impressive than Massachusetts native Reks. While Reks has been in the game for nearly a decade now, he is not a well-known name amongst the regular rap circuit. With his latest release and third studio album, Rhythmatic Eternal King Supreme (his name is actually an acronym) is putting not only his city on the rap map, but also capturing the attention of many listeners.

R.E.K.S. (Ryhthmatic Eternal King Supreme) is the impressive offering of a rapper with a huge dedication to his craft and a passion for creating quality music. At first glance, this album is covered in phenomenal production from some of the best hip-hop pioneers in the game. You’ve got a solid mix of DJ Premier, Pete Rock, Hi-Tek, The Alchemist, Nottz, and more. While the collaborations and features are kept to a minimum the additions of Freeway, Styles P, and Boston comrade Termanology add some great chemistry to this intimidating (yet introspective) album. It’s evident that Reks is from a city of low temperatures, for he has managed to present a vibe and energy across the record that gives off a cold, chilly feel, and you can’t help but find yourself thinking that this is something for gray days.

The record starts off with the recent single that DJ Premier produced, “25th Hour”. It’s easily another absolute classic by Premo, and Reks rhymes rapidly over disgustingly eerie, piercing piano keys and airtight drumbeats, mixed in with Nas’ Illmatic samples. Next, the raw and hard energy is continued with “Thin Line” with a little help from Pete Rock. The track has instant qualities of archetypal ‘90s rap reminiscent of Big L, or M.O.P. For a more intellectual and retrospective look at Reks, “This Is Me” dives into a struggle of dark hours, describing how the rapper had to cope with the death of his father at a young age. “Mr. Nobody” takes listeners into another dark corner, illustrating the days when poverty and family financial stability were Reks’ day-to-day. The two Hi-Tek-produced beats on R.E.K.S. are rather impressive, with a great chemistry formulated on “U Know,” a track featuring Philadelphia big-bearded hustler Freeway. “The Wonder Years” has a solid horn-driven beat, although the chorus comes across a bit rushed and repetitive. “Limelight” tries to lighten the dark mood of the record with it’s silly and clashing beat, however it comes across as more of a throwaway track if anything. Any Alchemist fan will be more than impressed with “Why Cry,” featuring another underrated and extremely impressive emcee, Styles P.

From front to back, R.E.K.S. demonstrates memoirs of a rapper who has yet to really break through into the limelight – but one who possesses the drive and passion to get him there. Although he might never gain mention alongside many of the mainstream rappers, this Boston brother has delivered a record to which any true hip-hop head will find themselves rocking constantly and discussing for a long time coming.

-Jay Wolman

Sun Mar 20

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Background