Open your mind to film-dropps

Viva La Cinema. Film Dropps is the place to find reviews on all of your favorite movies some in the theater and some not but if it was recorded on film and meant for your eyes- its here.

go left young man
  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/zerodarkthirty93.jpg

    Zero Dark Thirty

    Wed Feb 13

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnwarmbodiesposter.jpg

    Warm Bodies

    Wed Feb 6

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tndjangounchainedmovieposter.jpg

    Django Unchained

    Tue Jan 29

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnthehobbitmovieposter.jpg

    The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey

    Mon Dec 17

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/holymotors161.png

    Holy Motors

    Thu Dec 6

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnskyfallmovieposter.jpg

    Skyfall

    Wed Dec 5

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnwreckitralphposter.jpg

    Wreck-It-Ralph

    Tue Nov 20

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnsleepwalkwithmeposter28.jpg

    Sleepwalk With Me

    Mon Nov 19

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/themaster161.png

    The Master

    Sun Oct 7

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tncosmopolismoviereview.jpg

    Cosmopolis

    Thu Aug 30

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnthecampaignmoviereview.jpg

    The Campaign

    Fri Aug 24

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tntheoddlifeoftimothygreenmoviereview.jpg

    The Odd Life of Timothy Green

    Wed Aug 22

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/toromewithloveofficialposter.jpg

    To Rome With Love

    Tue Aug 21

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnthebournelegacymoviereview.jpg

    The Bourne Legacy

    Mon Aug 20

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnthewatch.jpg

    The Watch

    Fri Aug 10

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/totalrecallposter.jpg

    Total Recall

    Mon Aug 6

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnsavages.jpg

    Savages

    Tue Jul 31

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnsafetynotguaranteedmoviereview.jpg

    Safety Not Guaranteed

    Thu Jul 26

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tndarkknightrisesposter.jpg

    The Dark Knight Rises

    Mon Jul 23

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tntheamazingspidermanmoviereview.jpg

    The Amazing Spider-Man

    Fri Jul 6

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnabrahamlincolnvampirehuntermoviereview.jpg

    Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter

    Thu Jul 5

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnshutupandplaythehitsmoviereview15.jpg

    Shut Up and Play the Hits

    Mon Jul 2

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tndroppjulypreview.jpg

    July Film Preview

    Fri Jun 29

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnbrave.jpeg

    Brave

    Fri Jun 22

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnmoonrisekingdom.jpg

    Moonrise Kingdom

    Mon Jun 18

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnthatsmyboymoviereview.jpg

    That's My Boy

    Thu Jun 14

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnprometheus.jpg

    Prometheus

    Mon Jun 11

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnsnowwhiteandthehuntsmanmoviereviw.jpg

    Snow White and The Huntsman

    Fri Jun 8

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/junepreviewtn.jpg

    June Film Preview

    Mon Jun 4

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnmeninblack3.jpg

    Men in Black 3

    Thu May 31

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnthedictatormoviereview.jpg

    The Dictator

    Fri May 18

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tndarkshadowsmoviereview.jpg

    Dark Shadows

    Tue May 15

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnmarvelstheavengersmoviereview.jpg

    Marvel's The Avengers

    Mon May 7

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/filmpreviewtn.jpg

    May Film Preview

    Mon Apr 30

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tntheladymoviereview.jpg

    The Lady

    Wed Apr 25

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnclownmoviereview.jpg

    Clown (Klovn)

    Mon Apr 23

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnnotyetbeguntofightmoviereview.jpg

    Not Yet Begun to Fight

    Sun Apr 22

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnandrewbirdfeveryearmoviereview.jpg

    Andrew Bird: Fever Year

    Sat Apr 21

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnbrooklynbrothersbeatthebestmoviereview.jpg

    Brooklyn Brothers Beat the Best

    Sat Apr 21

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnmonsieurlazharmoviereview.jpg

    Monsieur Lazhar

    Fri Apr 20

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnmagicvalleymoviereview.jpg

    Magic Valley

    Thu Apr 19

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnanordinaryfamilymoviereview.jpg

    An Ordinary Family

    Thu Apr 19

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnthinkofmemoviereview.jpg

    Think of Me

    Wed Apr 18

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tngodblessamericamoviereview.jpg

    God Bless America

    Wed Apr 18

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnturnmeondammitmoviereview.jpg

    Turn Me On, Damnit!

    Mon Apr 16

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnreneemoviereview.jpg

    Renee

    Sat Apr 14

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnthecabininthewoodsmoviereview.jpg

    The Cabin in the Woods

    Fri Apr 13

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/ffftn2.jpg

    Florida Film Festival 2012 Preview Cont.

    Thu Apr 12

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/ffftn.jpg

    Florida Film Festival 2012 preview

    Mon Apr 9

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/hungergames.jpg

    The Hunger Games

    Mon Apr 2

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/filmtn60.jpg

    The Cinema of 2011: A reflection of the Best and Worst

    Tue Jan 31

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/2012filmtn.jpg

    The Film Dropp Preview: A guide to movies in 2012

    Thu Jan 5

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/drivetn.jpg

    Drive

    Wed Oct 12

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/moneyballtn.jpg

    Moneyball Review

    Fri Sep 30

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/5050tn.jpg

    50/50

    Mon Sep 26

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/thehelpmovieposter.jpg

    The Help

    Fri Aug 19

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/riseofapestn.jpg

    Rise of the Planet of the Apes

    Wed Aug 10

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/cowboysalienstn.jpg

    Cowboys and Aliens

    Mon Aug 8

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/captainamericatn.jpg

    Captain America review

    Mon Aug 1

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/220pxdeathlyhallowsp21.jpeg

    Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows pt.2

    Sat Jul 23

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/treeoflifetn.jpg

    The Tree of Life

    Thu Jul 14

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tnhorriblebosses.jpg

    Horrible Bosses

    Wed Jul 13

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tncameron_diaz_bad_teacher_poster.jpg

    Bad Teacher

    Mon Jul 11

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/greenlantern.jpg

    Green Lantern

    Fri Jul 1

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/toobigtofailtn.jpg

    Too Big To Fail

    Mon Jun 27

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/tntheartofgettingby.jpg

    The Art of Getting By

    Mon Jun 20

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/hesher.jpg

    Hesher

    Fri May 13

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/bridesmaids_poster60.jpg

    Bridesmaids

    Wed May 11

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/thormovie.jpg

    Thor

    Fri May 6

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/americanbillhicks.png

    American: The Bill Hicks Story

    Mon May 2

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/cinemaverite.png

    Cinema Verite

    Wed Apr 27

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/13_assassins_poster_low.jpg

    13 Assasins

    Mon Apr 25

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/super.jpg

    SUPER

    Fri Apr 22

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/yourhighnessmovieposter550x814.jpg

    Your Highness

    Wed Apr 20

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/chekovforchildren.png

    Chekov For Children

    Mon Apr 18

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/kinyarwanda.jpg

    Kinyarwanda

    Thu Apr 14

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/norman.gif

    Norman

    Wed Apr 13

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/thehappypoetposter460x690.jpg

    The Happy Poet

    Mon Apr 11

  • The Thief

    Fri Apr 8

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/india.png

    Made In India

    Fri Apr 8

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/journey_from_zanskar.jpg

    Journey From Zanskar

    Mon Apr 4

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/silver_tongues.jpg

    Silver Tongues

    Thu Mar 31

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/louderthanabombmovieposter.jpg

    Louder Than a Bomb

    Tue Mar 29

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/win_win_main_thumbnail.jpg

    Win Win

    Sun Mar 27

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/suckerpunchposter.jpg

    Sucker Punch

    Fri Mar 25

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/rubber_poster.jpg

    Rubber

    Thu Mar 24

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/battlelosangelespost121710thumb550x81453764.jpg

    Battle Los Angeles

    Fri Mar 18

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/winwinposter.jpg

    Win Win

    Fri Mar 18

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/unveilingslide_poster.jpg

    Florida Film Festival Preview

    Tue Mar 15

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/littleredridinghoodposter.jpg

    Red Riding Hood

    Mon Mar 14

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/isawthedevilposter.jpg

    I Saw The Devil

    Fri Mar 11

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/happythankyoumoreplease.jpg

    Happythankyoumoreplease

    Mon Mar 7

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/unknownposterliamneeson.jpg

    Unknown

    Fri Mar 4

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/paul_movie_poster_tagged_001.jpg

    Paul

    Tue Mar 1

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/kaboomotherposter.jpg

    Kaboom

    Mon Feb 28

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/justgowithitposter.jpg

    Just Go With It

    Tue Feb 15

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/illustionist.jpg

    The Illusionist

    Tue Feb 15

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/restrepo7616posterlarge.jpg

    Restrepo

    Sat Feb 12

  • http://thedropp.com/wp-content/files_mf/dogtooth_poster.jpg

    Dogtooth

    Thu Feb 10

don't go left young man

RED

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,


Genre: Action & Adventure, Mystery & Suspense, Comedy

Rated: PG-13
Running Time: 1 hr. 51 min.
In Theaters: Oct 15, 2010 Wide
Box Office: $43.5M
Directed By: Robert Schwentke
Written By: Erich Hoeber

Ever since Spider-Man became a break through success in the Hollywood, it seems
more and more studios have jumped on the comic book bandwagon. Throwing a
big named star in a comedic costume and dowsing the film with special effects has
resulted in million dollar revenue streams for years now, and resulted in some
pretty entertaining film making. As the big name comic book hero’s have begun to
run low, the studios and filmmakers have begun to turn to the not so well known
hero’s. Movies like The Spirit, Watchmen, and 2010’s surprisingly good Kick-Ass are
a few of the results. In that same fashion, Summit Entertainment has turned to DC
Comics cult classic RED, in hopes of another box office hit.

RED (Retired: extremely dangerous) follows retired black-ops agent Frank Moses
(Bruce Willis), after a group of government agents have been sent to assassinate
him. Being framed for an assassination, Frank, along with his former black-ops team,
Joe Mathenson (Morgan Freeman), Marvin Boggs (John Malkovich) and Victoria
(Helen Mirren) team up again for one final mission. In a cross-country journey to
uncover one of the government’s biggest conspiracy cover-ups, Frank and his team
become part of a mission that will change the face of U.S. government.

The first thing that catches your attention with RED is its star-studded cast. With
Willis, Freeman, Malkovich and Mirren comprising the lead roles, this film already
has a built in audience; smart choice considering most of the people who will see
this film have never heard of DC Comics “RED” and wont even know it was a comic
book after they leave the theater. While every member of the surprisingly strong
cast gives a solid performance, stand out portrayal goes to John Malkovich in his
performance of Marvin Boggs, an acid induced paranoid ex black-ops agent.

RED falls somewhere between action and comedy, giving the viewer a little of
everything they desire in blockbuster like this. Unfortunately, the film also runs
into some common stereotypes; a Russian character named Ivan (because every
Russian charcter is either Ivan or Borris), a main character played by a woman who
only is given a first name, a black character who dies first. Common stereotypes
that don’t really harm the film just cheapen it value to some degree. Director Robert
Schwentke (Flightplan, The Time Travelers Wife) makes his action film debut with
RED and does a fairly nice job. While the movie is nothing ground breaking, or
utterly original, it is fairly entertaining in its depiction throughout.

RED is a run-of-the-mill action film with comedy sprinkled throughout; it has a little
something for everyone to enjoy. It’s a nice alternative comic book adaptation that is
backed with a solid cast but it’s not a great film by any means. The nice thing about
RED is that it doesn’t try to hide behind itself, it’s not trying to be anything deeper
than what it is: a 9-dollar action comedy.

-Hunter Freiburg

Tue Oct 26

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Background